Daisy Chains and Fireworks

Dahlia display

Yesterday was Independence Day — a day of memories. I remember groups of friends holding sparklers underneath the mimosa tree in the dusk while our parents chatted over iced tea. Dad’s quick search for the best firework viewing spots around town, and then us all tumbling into the station wagon with folding chairs to go to some bank’s parking lot. I remember nights spent listening to the concert from D.C. while trying to catch fireflies. Or learning to make daisy chains and clover chains from a family friend when I was 7.

Yesterday I was on a family trip to Chestertown, MD (which was lovely). The Chestertown city picnic there, with live music, was filled with families eating hot dogs and singing along to “You Are My Sunshine”. We left in time for huge rain downpours, followed by seeing the big City firework display at the waterfront while on the highway skirting the city.

“ Private,” unsanctioned displays continued in the streets. My neighborhood sounded like the War of 1812 until 3:30 AM in the morning. I prefer fireworks from a distance, so I spent a nervous night with the cats.

Almost every country has an Independence Day, Constitution Day, or a National Day… so I hope yours was/is splendid, whether it was May Day or St George’s Day (in April) or Syttende Mai or it is yet to come this year.

Note: the “firework” image is a dahlia from the yard.

2 Responses to “Daisy Chains and Fireworks”


  1. 1 magnusmog July 7, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Isn’t that funny, I love fireworks too but the private displays make me wince as I imagine all the pets cowering and being scared. Magnus, of course just sleeps through them 🙂

  2. 2 Greg July 9, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Here on the Cape the private displays often extend the show. Sometimes, they are nearly municipal sized, shot off from private homes along the expensive water’s edge.

    Other times, I have benefitted from having a sheltered and unseen spot in the dunes, as small family groups arrive and depart…a few children, a Dad, a nervous looking Mom wearing a heavier coat than the weather requires, where the skyrockets are concealed.

    They set off a few simple rockets to the delight of the children and themselves (and a hidden me), and then quickly depart, worried about the cops…only to be replaced by another family a little while later, to start the show all over again.

    When you look up and down the bayside shore on Fourth of July night, you see the larger displays of the towns, but then also miscellaneous rockets sailing up through the air over the water, blossoming like tiny fire chrysanthemums as far as the eye can see. I wonder what the fish think of all the charred remnants.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Archives


