Opening a book that burrows into the past

I’ve been enjoying The Buried Book: The Loss and Rediscovery of the Great Epic of Gilgamesh. I’m eager to see how author David Damrosch will manage to take us from looking through the eyes of the Victorian explorers with their goal of assimilating knowledge for empire (or for the joy of deciphering a mystery) back to the days of Gilgamesh and then back to the near present, with the first and second Gulf Wars. It’s an interesting slice of history, served up with a good dose of perspective on Empire building.

But for now, I’m enjoying going back in time and reliving those heady days in second grade when I believed I might be able to have a job deciphering Cunieform similar to a later mad belief  in 7th grade that I might be good at organic chem someday. 🙂

Flickr Photos

Archives


