Gates of Ivory – a good choice for travel reading

I rely a great deal on libraries, which leads me to dark thoughts about people who think libraries aren’t relevant or helpful. Every time I go to my branch, I see people looking for jobs online, or kids using the computers to do their homework (or maybe play video games with the sound off). Where do people meet if they don’t want coffee or don’t want to shop for things? How do people find new authors? How do students find research material? How do cooks explore new cuisines without investing in a whole new cookbook? When I was little, the local library even rented artwork for 3 weeks at a time, so people could bring a little culture home with them. I do wonder if other countries have libraries like the ones I’m familiar with [thank you Carnegies for investing in building them everywhere].

Margaret Drabble’s book, Gates of Ivory (mentioned here) has been a lovely book to read while trapped in airports waiting for connecting flights. Earlier in the year, I tried to read The Peppered Moth, but had difficulty enjoying it after the glut of novels set in the Victorian era by modern writers. I do wonder if the author was influenced by the organizational structure of Pynchon’s V.  Sadly The Radiant Way is not available at the library right now, so I’ve settled for another book until I can get The Radiant Way through another branch of the library, so I can see where Alix and Liz meet in the 1950s.

Flickr Photos

Archives


