Another day of time travel

Do you find that scent can transport you through time in an instant?

It’s been another day with time to clean out closets, organize things (oh, and unload more boxes my Father packed), and I’ve been tripping the scents fantastic….

My (vintage 1983) bottle of Charlie is now with my other perfume bottles [link to the cheesy/classic ad campaign here]. It’s probably a billionty proof by now. I haven’t found my bottle of Ritz perfume (sadly) or the Windsong perfume. It would be kind of fun to find this Avon perfume bottle, with its kitten on a ball of yarn. It was the worst design ever if you wanted to use the perfume inside the bottle. I think there’s a spot in the old family home which is permanently scented by repeated dropping of the rolling, circular container of Amber.

I also unearthed a bottle of Kolnisch Wasser No. 4711. It still smells lovely, although it’s old enough that I don’t think they sell the flat glass bottles for travelers anymore. I could be wrong, of course.

Meanwhile, I’ve been poking around online, and managed to find the packaging of the perfumed talc that family members used to have. I don’t think I could smell that without invoking ghostly memories.

Flickr Photos

Archives


