Not quite house beautiful

We’ve had a rare flurry of activity — a trip to picnic with friends, guests 2 weekends in a row, concerts to attend, and the normal excitement of getting a garden ready for summer. Last week, I washed off the deck chairs with soap and water. We started work on taming the rogue hedge in the front yard. And, because there were guests coming, I treated myself to a very delicious selection of fruit at the market. By the end of one 4-person dinner, the entire large bowl of fruit I prepared was empty. I think I ate most of the cherries that were in the lot. But… easy, and I didn’t need to heat up the oven.

I do think the photo is funny, though: Victorian transferware bowl, on a formica topped table (probably from the late 50s early 60s), and a classic still live for berries from May. Not quite “The House Beautiful”, yes? It isn’t quite as candid as Magnusmog’s post about the items around photos that she crops out (although I hadn’t seen this particular breakfast table cleared of everything since sometime in December, if I would be honest).

Flickr Photos

Archives


