The Lace Reader, by Brunonia Barry

Leaf Lace Shawl

I can read lace, and I can read minds, though it isn’t something I try to do; it is something that just happens sometimes. My mother can do both, but over the years May has become a practical woman who believes that knowing what is in people’s minds or their futures is not always in anyone’s best interest. This is probably the only point upon which my mother and I have ever agreed.”

Brunonia Barry, The Lace Reader. Publisher: William Morrow (HarperCollins imprint), 2006.

I’m still not sure how I feel about the overall book, but I found the descriptions of Salem, Massachusetts and the tourist culture there to be the best parts. The book itself felt disjointed, but perhaps that was purposeful — an overall mood that reinforced the disassociative nature of the characters relations within themselves? I’ll have to think on it a bit, but it was a great for reading on a summer day.

Flickr Photos

Archives


