Very, very lucky

I think I spent much of today crying over footage of places where I’ve walked, including in my city, that were underwater. I don’t think I want to ever get closer to an event like hurricane Sandy.

My home, my family were incredibly fortunate to be where we are. I’m fortunate the Gardener is handy with hydraulic cement, and that there was only one day and night where we were bailing the basement. I’ve been in contact with more family members here, and friends overseas than I normally am in a week.

We’ll all dry out, rebuild, reassess the value of Roman drains. I’ve seen other American communities come back after events like this. It’s just shocking and humbling that many of those communities are only an hour or 2 away by car this time.

Flickr Photos

Archives


