Reading: Winter Walk by John Clare

holly-wideWinter Walk

“The holly bush, a sober lump of green
Shines through the the leafless shrubs all brown and grey,
And smiles at winter, be it ever so keen,
With all the leafy luxury of May. ” John Clare, 1832-1835.

Read the rest of Winter Walk at Poetry cat here: http://www.poetrycat.com/john-clare/winter-walk

It’s a very visual poem. I’m sitting here, thinking about the day “In winter’s loaded garment keenly blows/ and suddenly turns her back on falling snows…” That’s what the weather was like yesterday, with wind blowing as though it was being chased by pelting snow and ice. And holly trees I assume were once “holy trees”, but maybe I’m simplifying. So, if you’re holed up against round 2 of the “wicked winter weather in the East” as one news media announcer called it (sounds like a character from the Wizard of Oz, actually), what are you reading? I’m finding poetry to be the most restful. Bellman and Black nearly done, and overdue at the library.

2 Responses to “Reading: Winter Walk by John Clare”


  1. 1 Sherri December 11, 2013 at 3:39 am

    I haven’t had much time for reading lately, but when I can squirrel away a few moments for myself, I’ve been reading the Fairyland series by Cat Valente (here’s a lovely book trailer for the first book: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7lek41kLKH4). Wonderfully lush and vivid prose; both Dorothy and I are enjoying them a great deal!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Archives


