Memories of childhood spring up in unlikely places

Found in an antique store downtown.

Found in an antique store downtown.

Teaching Little Fingers to Play. I found it in an antique store downtown, among the furniture. This was my first piano book, which my mother used to teach me about middle C, octaves, etc. Mom, always sitting on my left, with me to her right in front of middle C at the old brown upright piano. This article talks about a writer’s “affair” with pianos, mentioning one of the prosaic children’s pieces that I can still sing “Here we go, up a row, to a Birthday party” (although I think it might have been “in a row”). Other books would follow, including one by Dimitri Kabalesky, whose music I can play without seeing.

Flickr Photos

Archives


