Spring peepers – the Chorus Frog

During a meeting late this afternoon, I could hear spring peepers in the background. The chorus started as a coworker droned on into the dinner hour over his slide presentation that may have been of interest to me*, but I just got distracted.

I began mentally estimating how many spring peepers can support themselves in the drainoff “pond” in the mist of the section of the office property with trees on it. And also, what does it sound like when everyone in the office park leave and the spring peeper chorus really gets started? Their song is a true sign of spring. The crocuses are also finally blooming in the front yard, so I hope that soon it will be time for afternoon walks again.

[Link to the sound here.][Link to the Department of Natural Resources article about the Northern spring peeper here.]

*Or it may not have. I’ll leave it a mystery.

Flickr Photos

Archives


