Precious little knitting is getting done

Between older cats that are acting displaced, and a kitten that’s bonkers, I’ve been busy managing feline expectations. Not a great deal of fancy knitting has been going on — in fact, with the rehearsals for the chorus over the past few weeks, I didn’t pick up my needles more than half an hour at a time.

I can’t figure out how I made this shawl while Malkin was a teen kitten (although it did get unraveled at least once by him). The Leaf Lace shawl was my Winter challenge during the 2006 Olympics. How did I complete it in 3 months, even if you factor in a half hour commute back and forth to work instead of my current one, and no choral practice to take up my free time?

I’ve got one shawl to work on next, after my lace socks (Nancy Bush’s Child’s French Socks, code named Pinkie). The new shawl is color work instead of lace. Hopefully that yarn will hold up better than sock yarn when confronted by little kitten grabby claws and teeth. In the meantime, I’m knitting the socks (found in this knitting pattern book) when the kitten is in “jail” for being naughty. And when I work on them, they go speedily.

Flickr Photos

Archives


