Giving thanks

It’s been a very long weekend (family visits, inflatable mattress in the office, lots of baking, to-and-fro-ing). Over the river and through the woods, only now my Aunt is the grandmother in the song.

Our house is still cleaner than it was 2 weeks ago, and we’ve swapped out the multicolored ears of corn on the doorway for a giant Christmas wreath. And before I get swept up in a search for the Christmas ornaments, and a good location for the tree … I’m going to spend the last few waking ours of this weekend being thankful.

The in laws came, so we terrorized the kitten with the inflatable mattress in the office, and it’s been a whirlwind of preparing dishes for one potluck dinner after another. The last dinner was with my family, accompanied by some pretty heavy discussions of the kinds that families have.

I’m thankful I live near enough to visit family and friends. I’m thankful the kitten didn’t manage to bite my father-in-law. Very grateful that I wasn’t responsible for either of the Thanksgiving feasts.

I’m thankful that I live in a mostly peaceful area, where things aren’t perfect, but people are trying to make things better.

Foods we baked this weekend:

  • Dates stuffed with manchego cheese and wrapped with bacon (on a friend’s bar-b-que)
  • Spoonbread (Fannie Farmer’s recipe –> and oldie, but a goodie)

If you’re in a region that celebrated Thanksgiving, hope it was wonderful. If you aren’t, I hope you were able to have a peaceful time.

2 Responses to “Giving thanks”


  1. 1 nellkate November 30, 2015 at 7:40 am

    It was good to hear about your holiday! Eleanor


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Archives


