Amazing stories

Due to travel, I managed to read some thought-provoking, wonderful books last month. My family circulates books among one another — a lending library that goes from the one side of the country to the other, then back to the middle.

One of the books I borrowed from the family “library” was Please Enjoy Your Happiness by Paul Brinkley-Rogers. Gorgeous cover on this edition published in the UK. Like many true stories, you’re left with a feeling of nebulous (did he, did she… etc.) ending. I was able to suspend my belief and to feel like I was visiting those murky days right after WWII, in Japan. And if I were in occupied Japan, how interesting it would have been to meet the main characters — the narrator, a sailor on a US ship, and Kaji, a Japanese woman who was raised in China. They’re both in love with poetry, with music, and cinema. It was a  diverting book for a long airplane ride, and like the narrator (now older, and able to understand the gift of platonic love from Kaji), I wanted to step into the Mozart Cafe, listen to some challenging classical music, and see the story continue.

Now that Brinkley-Rogers’ memoir was passed on to someone else, I’ve begun reading Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You. So far I can only say that it seems to have a Faulkner-esque sense of time (looping back upon itself to move the story forward). And I hope that the loops will eventually jettison the family at the heart of the story beyond the great mysteries of loss that they’re dealing with.

So, are you reading anything I should check out?

0 Responses to “Amazing stories”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Archives


